About Julian Alberts

  • I am 18+ years of age Yes

About Yourself

My name is Julian Alberts, I am 26 years old, and I am from Door County, Wisconsin. I have worked in restaurants and bars for my entire working life. I have almost 9 years of fine dining serving experience, and 2 years of bartending experience. I have held a serving position at a fast-casual restaurant for the past 4 years, and have worked two jobs in tandem during this time. Additionally, I have worked a winter season in the US Virgin Islands, so I am no stranger to working away from home.

While I have a breadth of experience in hospitality, I am always seeking to progress toward mastery of my craft, and have a continuous appetite to learn more about the industry. I am looking for employment in the busiest vacation destinations in the country that will provide me with an opportunity to work hard, have fun, and elevate my career. I am primarily interested in seasonal opportunities, as I am excited by a life of travel. However, should the right situation present itself, I would be open to a year-round position. I love what I do, and I am able to be happy working many hours because of that.

If you are interested in hiring me, please reach out by sending me an email. I always look forward to discussing new opportunities.

Education

  • 2016 - 2017
    Purdue University

    PhD Candidate

    Upon graduating with my Bachelor Degree, I enrolled in the Direct PhD program at Purdue University, in the field of Thermal Sciences. In the interim summer between graduation and my first semester at Purdue, I embarked on a backpacking trip through Europe that changed my outlook on life forever. I subsequently dropped out of graduate school after the first semester, and returned home to work at the restaurant where I spend my summers. This when I would consider to be the start of my career in hospitality.

  • 2012 - 2016
    Milwaukee School of Engineering

    B.S. Mechanical Engineering

    In May 2016, I graduated MSOE with a Bachelors Degree in Mechanical Engineering, with a minor in Mathematics. During my time in college, I garnered invaluable leadership experience through serving as Chapter President of Tau Beta Pi Honor Society. While my degree is unrelated to hospitality, it has provided me with critical thinking skills and has instilled a high degree of personal discipline.

Experience

  • 2008 - 2021
    Trattoria Dal Santo

    Server

    I began working at Trattoria Dal Santo as a dishwasher as soon as I was old enough to work at the age of 14. When I was 18, I was moved up front to be a server, and worked every summer throughout college and after at Dal Santo's. Dal Santo's is an Italian fine dining establishment, where I gained extensive knowledge on Italian wines, pairing, and wine service. I became intimately familiar with the nuances of a fine dining setting, and learned to balance an ideal customer service with the best interests of the business. After leaving college, I worked here full time every summer season and during one offseason.

Skills